Dykstra, Mary E.

1950 Queens


While the 1949 Microcosm gave the task of judging the year's campus queens to the student body, the yearbook of 1950 returned to the practice of outsourcing the judging. In 1950, Conrad Thibault, a radio and concert singer, had experience as a judge of the Miss America Beauty Contest. He chose Joan Davisson as the Queen of Dickinson College and Ann Frescott as the runner-up. Other female students selected as "The Unusual Six of a Kind" included: Lois Jane Barnard, Patricia Bradley, Barbara Neilson, Alice Rogers, Grace Wiest, and Frances Scott.

The 1949 Queens of Dickinson College


In 1949, the Microcosm gave the student body the task of selecting seven female students to be the "queens" of campus. In past years, they outsourced the selection process to artists or servicemen not associated with student body but decided to change this policy because student body has contact with female students. Thus, students could judge queens "based on character, personality, attractiveness, and popularity." Sarah J. Frew was elected the Queen of the year, and other queens included Virginia L. Parlin, Janet Z. Schultz, Lois Jane Barnard, Alice R. Rogers, Mary E.