Frew, Sarah J.

The 1949 Queens of Dickinson College


In 1949, the Microcosm gave the student body the task of selecting seven female students to be the "queens" of campus. In past years, they outsourced the selection process to artists or servicemen not associated with student body but decided to change this policy because student body has contact with female students. Thus, students could judge queens "based on character, personality, attractiveness, and popularity." Sarah J. Frew was elected the Queen of the year, and other queens included Virginia L. Parlin, Janet Z. Schultz, Lois Jane Barnard, Alice R. Rogers, Mary E.

Campus Queens


The 1946-1947 Microcosm presented Dickinson's Campus Queens for the academic year. Milton Caniff chose the Campus Queens and signed his photograph, included in the feature, "for the 1947 Microcosm with my very best wishes." Campus beauties included: Mary Elizabeth Derr, Ann Elizabeth Thompson, Sarah Jean Frew, Virginia Rickenbach, and Mary Jean Reynolds.